Skip to main content

Inspirational Woman

The Inspirational Woman of the Year Award recognizes the achievements of women staff and faculty affiliated with Michigan State University (including main campus and all off-site and satellite campuses). The award highlights woman-identified individuals who demonstrate integrity, leadership, quality performance, integrative and inclusive action, and influence on campus and in the community. The goal is to elevate and advance MSU’s culture of appreciation for the courageous and empowering work of the women change agents at MSU. Three individuals will be honored—one in each nomination category as outlined below. Recipients of the Inspirational Woman of the Year Award will be recognized in March 2016.

Inspirational Woman of the Year Award 2016 Call for Nominations 


2015 (Inaugural) Inspirational Woman of the Year Awards 


Community Outreach Award

Audrey Bentley

Ms. Audrey Bentley, Community Outreach Senior Coordinator, Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives 


Professional Achievement Award

Jeanne Wald

Dr. Jeanne Wald, Professor, Department of Mathematics 


Culture of Empowerment Award

Karin Wurst

Dr. Karin Wurst, Advisor to the Provost for Intercultural Learning and Engagement, Office of the Provost 


"The Inspirational Woman of the Year Award will engage the campus community in meaningful ways by recognizing the impact that women have on our innovation, our culture of high performance and by enriching the lives of every Spartan who walks onto this campus or engages with a Spartan in the community."

Dr. Jayne Schuiteman, 2015 Interim Director, MSU Women's Resource Center